Blogging 101: Balance btw. planning and being spontaneous

I’ve always wanted to be a celebrated columnist, and now I’m doing much the same — on the Internet, in cyberspace! It’s even better because I am co-creating a new community of bloggers, not just tooting my own horn to a bunch of avid readers.

The cool thing about blogging is that you give in to your spontaneous side when you write. Nothing is chistled in stone. Everything is subject to change at your whim and/or discretion. You’re not writing an article to publish in a magazine (or now obsolete newspapers). You’re free to create with eager little fingers whatever is on your mind at the time. What’s more, blogging is by nature “conversational”, which you don’t find in most magazine articles or nonfiction books. The conversational writers with whom I’m familiar are Neale Donald Walsch (Conversations with God books) and Marci Shimoff (“Happy for No Reason”). They both write as they speak, which makes for an easy read. But how did  they develop this casual, give-and take dialogue approach? This is part of my creative flow solution to writer’s block. As I’m still getting used to writing posts, I realize that blogging is indeed a casual platform that serves spontaneity and practical matters with equal alacrity and ease. I just got an email from Blogging Coach, Molly Greene on “How to Build a Perfect Blog Post”, and she’s successfully honed a standardized approach to creating blog posts. This is the planning part, but it allows plenty of room for spontaneity too:

http://bit.ly/1rjhTII

I’ve gotten used to shortening my URLs with Twitter, as I’m happy to do here… One thing that writers Marci and Molly both recommend, which I haven’t done yet, is having a “Call To Action” at the end of each post. Marci Shimoff has many bestsellers to her credit, and she wouldn’t have been so successful without a particular routine or method for organizing her thoughts and ideas. She decides early in her writing drafts what the ultimate call to action will be for her audience. Marci is also a strong proponent of the “shitty first draft” and not being afraid to write badly. (I call it writing from your subconscious mind, where there’s no judgment). Of course, it makes perfect sense for bloggers to also use CTA in their final draft to “stimulate reader engagement” as Molly says so they can grow their own following, and help others do likewise.

Therefore, I’ve decided to present again my introduction at the beginning of Blogging 101, which follows the suggested format (it’s clearly standardized for our Community) and asks questions at the end (Call To Action) while offering a fun and spontaneous way of alleviating writer’s block OR freeing yourself from those nasty gremlins that ZAP your creative energy:

Hi everyone, I’m Jacqueline and I’ve found a way to deal with writer’s block that works quite well. It isn’t the only way, but it definitely gets me in the flow and keeps me there in spite of a multitude of distractions! (Hint: I got this technique from Marci Shimoff, author of “Love For No Reason” and “Chicken Soup for the Woman’s Soul” books).

My excerpt: My intention is to be of service to other bloggers, by offering a breakthrough approach to overcoming the nefarious and nebulous writers block which is a common affliction for us creatives. And that includes anything which disrupts the flow of your creativity, and keeps your Muse from inspiring you~!

Goal: Actually the excerpt IS my stated goal for this post and theme for my entire WordPress Blog.

My Questions: 1) Do you believe that writer’s block truly is a common concern? I don’t actually reveal the specific method of banishing writer’s block, or why it’s so consistently effective. I am reverse engineering instead, by showing the end result of freestyle writing, which is a verrrry rough first draft (with corrections) as I did with my first three posts. 2) Do you think this will peak curiosity of readers to find out exactly how, with some illustrious help, I’ve conquered this problem?

Link (Optional): https://ramblinproseblog.wordpress.com/2014/09/16/banish-writers-block-unleash-the-flow-of-creativity/

Call To Action: Once you’ve read my early posts, I’d appreciate any suggestions or insights you may have. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

